Zenphoto uses cookies or sessions (depending on your option settings) to record user log-on credentials. If you have chosen session (to avoid cookies) then the behavior is quite normal. Browsers decide when sessions have terminated.
If you have chosen cookies then the cookie is expiring too quickly. The default for that option is days, so unless you have changed it the problem is probably with the browser.