Well, now you will understand why we recommend not doing that! I think you will be overwhelmed with differences. As for schema changes, most likely (without actually looking) there are changes. Nothing that the upgrade process should not handle, though.
Maybe you should consider what features you added compared to what zenphoto does in its current form.