Well, since we do not know what those installers might be doing wrong, it is quite possible that it impacts the database. Thus the only recommendaton we can make is to start everything fresh.
It may well be possible to use the old database, but it also may not. So you can try. The other thing you can do is use the Zenphoto backup to backup the old installation, install everything fresh and restore from that backup. It is best if you are using the same version of Zenphoto for both the backup and the restore. Otherwise, if there have been database changes between the versions you may loose some data.